The breath of God and the sound of your child’s heartbeat.

The greatest sound I have ever heard was the first time I heard the heartbeat of my child. The sound of something so strong yet fragile caused me, a huge bear of a man, to just melt. It also reminded me of God’s sovereign grace and how in perfection He created us and breathed life into us.

In the book of Genesis and the creation of man, it shows how, not only the intricacy God suffered through in creating us, but also the perfection of the One, whose image we bear.

“Let us make man in our image, after our likeness.”

This sentence found in Genesis 1:26 brings about a sense of love that we have no idea in which what to compare it to. Ephesians 1:4 says later that

“…even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love…”

This means that before the foundation of the world we were loved and set apart. It is indeed for His glory, but in know this, it is our joy. Hearing the tiny little heart of my son or daughter, we will find out next week, has been a display of God glorifying Himself in my life. It causes the question He asked of Job to resound in my ears and humbles me to the point where I cannot keep my eyes from tearing up without thinking of it.

“Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Job 38:4

I can’t even fathom how small I am compared to His majesty. I mean, this tiny little image bearer of God is going to be put under my care? I cannot tell you how daunting and incredibly amazing that is. What will he or she look like, what will their personality be like, will they take after me or their mom? These are genuine questions and I know that as time goes by they will be answered.

I think of all the things I experienced growing up and I, of course, plan never for them to go through that. I also ponder on the adventures we as a family will have. Things Kayla and I will not do for a long while now and how we’re ok with that.

I think of how my beautiful wife will be as a mama and the closeness she will have with them. A mama’s boy? A mommy’s princess? This is truly a blessing to even think of. Seeing her now desire to bond with baby as he or she grows in he belly. The experience is something I fail to find words to explain.

All I want to do is raise and train them rightly in the Lord. Knowing Him and His attributes and, with all my heart’s desire, hopefully one day embracing them as one who belongs to Christ. I cannot wait for the tiny coos and the facial expressions and the cuddles, oh the cuddles, and the late night scary dreams excuses to be jumping into mommy and daddy’s bed. The first day of Kindergarten, field trips, oh the field trips, the first crush, my sword is ready to be sharpened. The first date, the first heartbreak and the crying that comes after. I tell you, I am so excited.

However, my greatest joy will be the day I first hope him or her in my arms, first smell of their breath, touch of their skin. I am ready and I can barely contain my joy.  Many know me as a bear like fella, but those who know me best know that there is a tenderness for kids and you know what, I am so alright with it. God has given me an ability to cause little ones to love, I just hope it works on my kids, haha.

I often think of the possibility of being cooler in the eyes of my kids friends than I am in theirs. I guess we have to see.

God’s has breathed His breath and given me the honour of loving and raising the one who will hold that breath.

To God be the glory. He is enough and will always be, but I do thank Him for His precious gifts.

 

Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

